Airtricity Irish squad named for Manchester City Dublin Super Cup friendly - Manchester City FC

Accessibility links

Access other Manchester City products


Continue to

Continue to
Dublin Arena - Aviva Stadium - Ireland
Season 2011/12

Irish name squad for City friendly

  • 01 July 2011 14:13
  • Posted by Tim Oscroft

Thirty-five players from the Airtricity Irish League are named in a squad for the Dublin Super Cup friendly against City on 30 July.

The squad, chosen by coach Damien Richardson (pictured), will be whittled down to no more than 25 just ahead of the match, the first of two that City will play at the Aviva Stadium.

Richardson’s initial selection boasts four full internationals – Alan Mannus (Northern Ireland), Joe Gamble (Republic of Ireland), Jason Byrne (Republic of Ireland) and the league’s top scorer, Eamon Zayed (Libya).

Damien Richardson

The Airtricity Irish XI will also face Celtic, and coach Richardson admits the players are already excited at the prospect of pitting themselves against some world-class talent.

“I’m really excited to be naming my provisional panel for the Dublin Super Cup today as I think it highlights some of the exciting talent we have playing in the Airtricity League.

"I will now use the coming weeks to fine tune my selection before confirming the final squad. I’m confident we’ll be capable of competing with Celtic and Manchester City in this tournament, which I feel has captured the imagination of the Irish sporting public.

“I’ve already spoken to some of the boys and I know how thrilled they are to be taking part in a game that will be broadcast around the world.

Already I sense a mood of anticipation and determination beginning to build

Squad: Goalkeepers: Ger Doherty (Derry City), Gary Rogers (St Patrick’s Athletic), Alan Mannus (Shamrock Rovers)

Defenders: Pat Sullivan (Shamrock R), Owen Heary (Bohemians), Simon Madden (Dundalk), Stewart Greacen, Shane McEleney (Derry), Colin Hawkins (Dundalk), Dan Murray, Craig Sives, Ken Oman (Shamrock R), Danny Murphy (Cork City), Daniel Lafferty (Derry).

Midfielders: Daniel Kearns (Dundalk), Gareth McGlynn (Derry), Daryl Kavanagh (St Pat’s), Gary McCabe (Shamrock R), Barry Molloy, Ruaidhri Higgins (Derry), Joe Gamble (Limerick), Gary Dempsey (Bray Wand), Dave Mulcahy (St Pat’s), Dean Bennett (Dundalk), Ronan Finn, Conor McCormack, Stephen Rice (Shamrock R), Killian Brennan (Bohemians), Ross Gaynor (Dundalk), James McClean (Derry).

Forwards: Gary Twigg, Karl Sheppard (Shamrock R), Eamon Zayed (Derry), Jason Byrne (Dundalk), Danny North (St Pat’s).

Ticket details - available by telephone on 0870 062 1894 option 1* and to personal callers at the ticket office above the CityStore at the stadium:

Saturday, 30 July

City v Airtricity XI – 2pm

Celtic v Inter Milan – 4.30pm

Sunday, 31 July

Airtricity XI v Celtic –  2pm

Inter Milan v City – 4.30pm

Ticket Prices:


£55.00 – Adults

£46.50 – Under 16s/Over 65s (subject to availability - 500 available)


£42.50 – Adults

£34.00 – Under 16s/Over 65s (subject to availability - 500 available)

Supporters that wish to attend both days receive the two day package at a discounted rate (adult tickets only). Ticket prices as follows:


£101.50 – Adults


£76.00 – Adults

Tickets will be available by telephone on 0870 062 1894 option 1* and to personal callers at the ticket office above the CityStore at the stadium.

Selling Criteria:

•         Seasoncard holders – 16-17 February

•         Citycard/Live4City holders – 18 February

•         Accesscard/General Sale – 19 February

•         30 loyalty points will be awarded for attending this event

Like this? Share it.

Mike Doyle

Mike Doyle 1946-2011


us on

This site uses cookies. By clicking allow you are agreeing to our use of cookies.