Man City fans vote for their player of the year - Manchester City FC

Accessibility links

Access other Manchester City products

City awards 2010
Season 2009/10

Vote now for Player for the Year

  • 29 April 2010 09:12
  • Posted by Peter Ferguson

Never mind that other election you might have heard about - the real voting for True Blues starts right here, right now for the ultimate accolade of Player of the Year.

One of your favourite stars from this most significant campaign in years will step up on May 6 to receive the award as Etihad Player of the Year in association with the OSC.

The thrilling chase for fourth place and Champions League football has conjured some memorable performances since last August and a team of heroes to set fans debating individual merits.

Carlos Tevez has fired the imagination as well as a career-best 28 goals to fuel the team's rollercoaster ride towards Europe, winning a place deep in Blue hearts on the way.

His work-rate and sheer determination never to give up a lost cause is shared by Craig Bellamy, whose pace, spirit and finishing has helped make City's attack one to be feared.

In midfield, Gareth Barry has consistently shown why he is one of Fabio Capello's first picks for England while Dutch terrier Nigel de Jong has tackled the opposition to a standstill.

At the back, skipper Kolo Toure overcame a difficult transition to impose his authority while versatile Vincent Kompany has emerged alongside him as a truly formidable barrier.

And behind them all, Shay Given has produced match-winning performances and breathtaking saves to belie his World Cup anguish until the cruel blow at Arsenal that cut his season short.

Which of them will be honoured at the glittering MCFC Awards night hosted by TV presenter Georgie Thompson at the Stadium? Or do you favour another candidate? It's YOUR choice.

The polls close at noon on May 4 so don't delay too long. Make your vote count at


Like this? Share it.

This site uses cookies. By clicking allow you are agreeing to our use of cookies.