Manchester City submit Premier League squad - Manchester City FC

Accessibility links

Access other Manchester City products

New Stadium Entrance Shot1
Season 2011/12

City submit Premier League squad

  • 02 September 2011 21:33
  • Posted by Tim Oscroft

Manchester City has submitted the following squads for participation in the Barclays Premier League and the UEFA Champions League.

Please note that players aged under 21 are eligible in addition to the squad named below, with certain criteria. So in our case, Mario Balotelli and Stefan Savic, for example, are eligible without having to be named in the Premier League squad.

The following remarks are from the Premier League’s own guidelines: “For 2011/12 each club had a deadline of 5pm on 2nd September to submit a squad containing no more than 17 players who do not fulfil the Home Grown Player criteria. The remainder of the squad, up to a total of 25 players, must be Home Grown.

"A Home Grown Player means a player who, irrespective of his nationality or age, has been registered with any club affiliated to the Football Association or the Football Association of Wales for a period, continuous or not, of three entire seasons or 36 months prior to his 21st birthday (or the end of the Season during which he turns 21).

"Changes to the squad list of 25 may be made during the period of a Transfer Window or at other times only with the permission of the Board.

"U21 players are eligible over and above the limit of 25 players/squad. For the 2011/12 campaign Under 21 players will have been born on or after 1st January 1990.”

Premier League Squad:

Home grown: Barry, Bridge, Clichy, Hart, A Johnson, Lescott, Milner, Onuoha, Richards, Taylor.

Non-home grown: Aguero, De Jong, Dzeko, Hargreaves, Kolarov, Kompany, Nasri, Pantilimon, Nielsen, Silva, Tevez, Kolo Toure, Yaya Toure,  Zabaleta.

Champions League squad:

Goalkeepers: Hart, Taylor, Pantilimon.

Defenders: Richards, Lescott, Clichy, Zabaleta, Kompany, Kolo Toure, Kolarov, Onuoha, Savic.

Midfielders: Barry, Milner, A Johnson, De Jong, Yaya Toure, Silva, Nasri.

Strikers: Dzeko, Tevez, Aguero, Balotelli.

The following players were also submitted to UEFA on our ‘B’ list for the Champions League:

Bunn, Chantler, Cunningham, Helan, Johansen, Robinson, Roman, Tchuimeni-Nimely, Tse, Veseli, Wabara.

Like this? Share it.

This site uses cookies. By clicking allow you are agreeing to our use of cookies.