World Cup draw from Manchester City POV - Manchester City FC

Accessibility links

Access other Manchester City products


Continue to

Continue to
Samir Nasri
Season 2013/14

World Cup: City stars await fate

  • 05 December 2013 15:53
  • Posted by @dclayton_mcfc

The World Cup 2014 draw takes place this Friday and there are potentially eight nations with City connections to look out for.

As things stand, the players who will have most interest in the draw will be Sergio Aguero and Pablo Zabaleta (Argentina), Joe Hart and James Milner (England), Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast). David Silva, Alvaro NegredoJesus Navas and Javi Garcia (Spain), Edin Dzeko (Bosnia), Gael Clichy and Samir Nasri (France), and Vincent Kompany (Belgium).

Those with a chance of making the final cut for their country include Fernandinho (Brazil), Joleon Lescott, Jack Rodwell and Micah Richards (England) and Martin Demichelis (Argentina) won’t have given up on late a possible call-up for his country.

The draw will take place Costa do Sauipe, Bahia, Brazil from 16:30pm (GMT).

You can watch it live on BBC Two or listen to it BBC Radio 5 Live from 16:00 GMT and we’ll have reaction from some of our players on tomorrow’s edition of City Today.

With 32 nations competing and a first World Cup in Brazil since 1950, next summer’s tournament promises to be a spectacular event and, as ever, will have all the build-up along the way including in-depth coverage of all of our participating players throughout the competition.

The pots for the World Cup draw are as follows:

Pot 1 (top seeds): Brazil, Spain, Argentina, Belgium, Colombia, Germany, Switzerland and Uruguay.

Pot 2: Ivory Coast, Ghana, Algeria, Nigeria, Cameroon, Chile, Ecuador.

Pot 3: Japan, Iran, South Korea, Australia, United States, Mexico, Costa Rica, Honduras.

Pot 4: Bosnia-Hercegovina, Croatia, England, Greece, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Russia, France.

There will be eight groups of four teams drawn - with a maximum of two European nations and one South American country per group - and the top two from each quartet will progress to the knock-out stages.

The seeded nations are:  Brazil, Spain, Germany, Argentina, Colombia, Belgium, Uruguay and Switzerland all of who are in Pot 1. England will be in Pot 4 – though this could change to Pot 2.

Brazil 2014 begins in Sao Paulo on 12 June 2014 and ends with the final in Rio on 13 July.

Like this? Share it.


West Ham tickets on general sale

This site uses cookies. By clicking allow you are agreeing to our use of cookies.