Aguero named October Barclays Premier League Player of the Month - Manchester City FC

Accessibility links

Access other Manchester City products


Continue to

Continue to
Season 2013/14

Kun named league's best in October

  • 08 November 2013 10:20
  • Posted by @markbooth_mcfc

Four goals, two assists, three games - and that’s just on home soil in the month of October... can you guess who it is yet?

In a month which has brought the notion of footballing strike partnerships back in vogue, it’s no surprise that one half of City’s red-hot duo, Sergio Aguero, has been named as the league’s best player for October.

It’s the first time that the Quilmes-born striker has won the award and he beat off stiff competition from Luis Suarez, Daniel Sturridge, Olivier Giroud, Eden Hazard and Adam Lallana.

Kun’s devastating partnership with Alvaro Negredo hogged the headlines throughout October and fired the Sky Blues back to within touching distance of the league summit.

October began in convincing style for the Argentine hitman with his goal against Everton at the Etihad Stadium on the stroke of half-time which saw him beat the offside trap and drill in a right footed shot past Tim Howard.

That was followed up after the international break with a brace at Upton Park which included his first headed goal in the Premier League at the start of the second half.

Although City were beaten next time out in the league at Stamford Bridge, Aguero was named Man of the Match and scored a stunning goal in the 48th minute after he latched onto a Samir Nasri through ball and rifled it into the roof of the net past Petr Cech.

This all goes without mentioning Aguero’s match-winning brace in the UEFA Champions League in Moscow in the same month.

November has started in even more stylish fashion for Aguero with three goals and two assists in two games against CSKA and Norwich City.

Sergio is the first City winner of the Barclays Player of the Month award since David Silva in September 2011 and he is the fifth winner of the title at the club in total.

City’s previous winners are Edin Dzeko (August 2011), Carlos Tevez (December 2009) and Micah Richards (August 2007).

This site uses cookies. By clicking allow you are agreeing to our use of cookies.